Getting a speeding ticket in Missouri is frustrating. You may think you have no recourse but to pay it. Worse yet, you could decide to toss it aside and ignore it. However, first there are some facts you need to know about speeding tickets in Missouri that may help you decide what to do next.
How Much is a Speeding Ticket in Missouri?
As to be expected, the fine for a speeding ticket depends on how much over the limit you were driving. The following fines are examples of what a fine might be, if you were to simply pay it and move on without hiring an attorney – which would result in not only costing you money, but the ticket would go on your driving record and you would be assessed points on that record.
As a very generally rule, if you were driving 25 mph or more over the speed limit, you may have to make an appearance at court and the amount of your fine will be determined by the judge.
This following chart is an excerpt from the State Fine Collection Center, which will not necessarily mean that this is your exact fine, but represents a good guesstimate of what the fines are for various offenses:
- Speeding 1-5 mph over posted speed limit $85
- In construction/work zone $120
- In work zone with workers present $335
- Speeding 6-10 mph over posted speed limit $99
- In construction/work zone $134
- In work zone with workers present $349
- Speeding 11-15 mph over posted speed limit $124
- In construction/work zone $159
- In work zone with workers present $374
- Speeding 16-19 mph over posted speed limit $149
- In construction/work zone $184
- In work zone with workers present $399
- Speeding 20-25 mph over posted speed limit $224
- In construction/work zone $259
- In work zone with workers present $474
If the offense occurred in a Travel Safe Zone or in an Active Emergency Zone, you may need to go online or call the department to determine the amount of your fine.
Speeding Ticket Misdemeanors
Missouri has different types of speeding laws. Whether your speeding ticket is an infraction, Class B misdemeanor, or Class C misdemeanor depends on which law was allegedly violated and how much over the speed limit the ticket says you were going.
The Basic Speeding Law. This requires motorists to drive at a safe speed depending on the circumstances no matter what the posted speed is. For example, if the posted speed is 55 mph, but the road is slick with black ice, a person driving 50 mph may be violating the basic speeding law. A violation of this law is generally a Class B misdemeanor and can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and a maximum jail sentence of six months.
The Absolute Speeding Law. This requires motorists to drive no faster than the posted speed limit. A violation is a Class C misdemeanor with a fine of up to $750 and up to 15 days in jail. A violation of the absolute speeding law which is only 5 mph or less over the posted speed is an infraction.
How Many Points are Speeding Tickets and How Many Points Will Result in License Suspension?
- When you pay your fine, you are considered convicted of the speeding offense and points will be added to your driving record. A speeding ticket will generally add 3 points.
- If you accumulate 8 or more points in an 18-month period, your license will be suspended for 30 days. A second suspension will last for 60 days, a third for 90 days.
- If you accumulate 12 or more points in a 24-month period, your license will be suspended for an entire year.
What Happens If a Speeding Ticket Isn’t Paid?
- There are serious consequences for not paying your speeding ticket:
- A warrant for your arrest may be issued.
- Fines generally increase.
- More points may be added to your driving record.
- Insurance costs will generally be higher.
- There may be extra insurance coverage required.
How Long Will a Speeding Tickets Last on a Record?
A speeding ticket will generally remain on your record for at least three years.
How to Fight a Speeding
Before you just pay your ticket, understand that the payment is an admission of guilt. This will almost certainly increase your insurance rates for the next three years. Also, it may come back to haunt you if you ever get another speeding ticket or have any other legal issue where it might be a problem. If you hire an attorney, there are many possible outcomes that will be more favorable than simply paying the ticket, such as:
- Having the ticket reduced to a non-moving violation.
- Having the points associated with the ticket reduced, sometimes to zero.
- Suspended Imposition of Sentence (S.I.S.) – the ticket does not go on your record at all, as long as you do not receive another, new ticket within a probationary period
- If the officer who issued the citation does not show up in court, sometimes the ticket may be dismissed.
Contact Us Today
We help clients keep their driving records clean and their insurance rates low. If you have any questions or would like to discuss your speeding ticket or moving citation with us, please call our offices any time at 417-895-9501.